Regulatory Compliance

Dental practice, environment & radiation, infection control, Cal/OSHA and HIPAA.

Multiple state and federal agencies are charged with regulating dental practices. Keep on top of the compliance process by downloading our versatile and customizable resources.

Regulatory Compliance Manual: Table of Contents and Use Instructions

Review the instructions for recommendations on how to best implement this program in your practice. Also download a table of contents for your binder.

2024 New California Paid Sick Leave Requirements and New Notice

Beginning Jan 1, employers must provide 5 days or 40 hours of paid sick leave annually. Employers should, update their policies, inform payroll providers of changes, provide employees with a new copy of the Notice to Employees required under California’s Wage Theft Protection Act and post the updated paid sick leave poster available on the Labor Commissioner’s website.

Access To Employee Exposure and Medical Records

Dental practices must have this Cal/OSHA regulation available to employees. This copy is Appendix 2 of the Regulatory Compliance Manual.  Updated Sept 2019.

Air Contaminants in Dentistry

Tips for reducing employee exposure to air contaminants including formaldehyde, glutaraldehyde and nitrous oxide in order not to exceed Cal/OSHA permissible exposure levels.

Air Tank and Compressor Inspection and Permit

An overview of the Cal/OSHA requirements for a dental practice to have an air compressor/tank permit.

All employers must register for CalSavers by June 30, 2022

California launched CalSavers to give employers an easy way to comply with the mandate and help their employees save for retirement.

State law now requires all businesses with five or more employees to facilitate CalSavers if they do not sponsor a retirement plan. Deadlines for employers to comply vary based on the size of business. The deadline for employers with five or more employees is June 30, 2022. Eligible employers with 5 or more employees who have not yet registered, should do so as soon as possible to avoid penalties. Visit CalSavers.com for more information on how to register.

Amalgam Separator Requirements - Q&A

Information on EPA rule requiring dental practices to install amalgam separators and comply with specific best management practices.  Includes a sample inspection and maintenance log.

Amalgam Waste Best Management Practices

A list of best practices and information resources on managing amalgam waste.

April 1, 2016: Develop new antidiscrimination policies

Amendments to California's Fair Employment and Housing Act regulations, which generally apply to employers of five or more employees, require employers to develop and distribute antidiscrimination, anti-harassment and complaint investigation policies. CDA has developed sample policy language and a sample employee manual template for dental practices.

April 2023: Mandatory Update to Federal Minimum Wage Poster

A recent update to federal law providing additional rights to parents who must express breast milk at work has impacted the federal Minimum Wage poster. Known as the “PUMP” Act (Providing Urgent Maternal Protections for Nursing Mothers), the law impacts employers who are not covered by California’s more expansive protections. Since it came into effect employers must accommodate nursing mothers by, among other things, providing a location other than a bathroom to express breast milk. California has required lactation accommodation for a number of years and requires notices to employees above and beyond poster notice requirements.

Aug. 1, 2016: Display new minimum wage posters

Dental practices must post the revised Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA) Minimum Wage Poster, no smaller than 11 inches by 17 inches, as well as the revised Employee Polygraph Protection Act (EPPA) Poster.

August 21, 2019: Hazardous pharmaceutical waste prohibited from disposal down the drain.

EPA’s newest rule requires healthcare facilities and other businesses that generate pharmaceutical hazardous waste to properly dispose of the waste. The first part of the rule, the prohibition on “sewering” hazardous pharmaceutical waste, is effective August 21. All nonhazardous pharmaceutical waste that are not controlled substances must be disposed as regulated medical waste. See Dental Office Waste Management Options.

Automated External Defibrillators

State requirements for a business that acquires an automated external defibrillator for use on the public.

Best Defense Against Disability Lawsuits

An overview of dental practice responsibilities under Americans with Disabilities Act and state disability laws. 

Bloodborne Pathogens Post Exposure Management Protocol

A checklist of actions a dental practice must take after an employee is exposed to blood or OPIM.  Updated Sept 2015, last reviewed Aug 2021

 

Bloodborne Pathogens Standard

Dental practices must have a copy of this regulation to provide to employees upon request. Updated Jan 2018, last reviewed Aug 2021.

Cal/OSHA Regulation on Aerosol Transmissible Diseases

Compliance requirements for preventing transmission of aerosol transmissible diseases (ATDs) at health care facilities. 

California State Mandated Reporting

California law designates certain individuals as "mandated reporters” for known or suspected abuse or neglect of a child, elder and dependent adult and incidents of violence. Dentists, and many members of the dental team, are required to acknowledge their responsibility and make reports as well as consider training for their teams.

California-Specific Privacy Laws

Outlines laws, provides links & other useful resources. California has many laws aimed at protecting the personal and confidential information of its residents.

Confirmation of Source Patient's Denial for Testing

Use form to document patient’s decision. The form is part of the Regulatory Compliance Manual. Updated Sept 2015.

Consent Form for Use or Disclosure of Patient Health Information

Use this sample form to obtain patient consent for use or disclosure of patient information as required by HIPAA and state law.

Consent to Prescribe Opioid to a Minor

Document prescriber’s discussion with a minor and guardian on opioid risks prior to prescribing the medication in non-emergency circumstances.

Continuing Education Requirements and FAQ

This is a summary and FAQ of the Dental Board’s continuing education regulations. To determine if a CE provider is registered with the Dental Board, use the Department of Consumer Affairs database.

COVID Addendum to the IIPP

This sample addendum to the injury and illness prevention plan has been updated for consistency with the Cal/OSHA nonemergency COVID-19 prevention regulation effective in 2023

COVID-19 Isolation and Exposure Protocol

On Jan. 9, 2024, CDPH updated its COVID-19 guidance documents on isolation and on testing. Cal/OSHA, on the same date, revised its FAQs which explain how CDPH changes impact the nonemergency COVID-19 Prevention regulation. CDPH changed the definition of “isolation period,” thus creating the possibility of a shorter isolation period for infected individuals. Cal/OSHA reinforced testing requirements for employees who are symptomatic at work or have close contact exposures at the workplace. Masks must be worn at the workplace by employees who return to work 10 or fewer days after they first experienced symptoms or had a positive test.

Credit Card Chargeback and Release of Patient Information

A credit card company may request information when a patient disputes a charge to a dental practice. Use these resources to respond to the company.

CURES - Frequently Asked Questions

All controlled substance prescribers in California are required to register to access the state prescription drug monitoring program known as CURES (Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System), which is managed by the state Department of Justice. The site is not accessible to those using the Internet Explorer (IE) browser.

1239