Employment Practices

Balancing the roles of healthcare provider and employer can be a challenge. Get advice on how to write job descriptions, create applications, place help wanted ads, set meal breaks, establish alternative work schedules, and terminate an employee.

Employment Practices

Top Resources

The following FAQ generally applies to California’s Mandatory Paid Sick Leave Law. Several California cities have implemented their own local ordinances offering more generous allowances.

California’s Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 requires all employers to provide a set amount of paid sick leave (PSL) to all eligible employees working in California.

Senate Bill (SB) 848, effective on January 1, 2024, requires employers with five or more employees to provide employees who have worked for at least 30 days with up to five days of reproductive loss leave.

CFRA Guidance

Dental practice owners should be aware and prepared for major changes to California’s Family Rights Act that go into effect Jan. 1, 2021.

FEATURED RESOURCE

Employee Manual Resources

Create a personalized employee manual using an online tool or a sample employee manual.

This toolkit covers recruiting, interviewing, hiring and onboarding, and provides a general list of basic hiring documents. If you are hiring a temporary employee or associate dentist, you will also need our additional hiring toolkits.

View General New Hire Toolkit

Associates may be classified as either an independent contractor or an employee. This toolkit includes information to help you determine how to hire an associate.

View Hiring Associates Toolkit

Short-term employees are considered employees by the State of California and require additional documentation. This toolkit covers hiring, paying and terminating temporary employees.

View Hiring Temporary Employees Toolkit

Employment Practice News

New reporting requirement for most dental practice owners under Corporate Transparency Act

Owners of small businesses with fewer than 20 employees are newly required to report their ownership information to the U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Financial Crimes Enforcement Network in compliance with the federal Corporate Transparency Act. 

January 23, 2024    Regulatory Compliance
All employees get five days California Paid Sick Leave starting in 2024

Employees in California will be allowed to take five days of paid sick leave — up from the current three — beginning Jan. 1, 2024, under legislation signed into law in October. The law applies to employers of every size. Salary, hourly, full-time, part-time and temporary employees are eligible for the leave.

November 29, 2023    Office Policies & Manuals
California’s minimum wage increases to $16 for all employers in January 2024

California’s minimum wage will rise again Jan. 1, 2024 – to $16 per hour for employers of every size as a result of inflation. But wages in more than 30 California counties are already higher and most of them will rise again in either January or July.  

November 7, 2023    News Articles