Are You in Compliance?

Effective July 1, 2024, local minimum wage posters have mandatory updates.

The following cities and counties are affected: Alameda, Berkeley, Emeryville, Fremont, LA City/LA County, Malibu, Milpitas, Pasadena, San Francisco and Santa Monica.

See Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave Ordinances by City/County available on cda.org for details.

July 1, 2024 Workplace Violence Prevention Law Takes Effect

Senate Bill 553 requires employers, with limited exceptions, to establish, implement and maintain an effective workplace violence prevention plan with specified information.

2024 New California Paid Sick Leave Requirements and New Notice

Beginning Jan 1, employers must provide 5 days or 40 hours of paid sick leave annually. Employers should, update their policies, inform payroll providers of changes, provide employees with a new copy of the Notice to Employees required under California’s Wage Theft Protection Act and post the updated paid sick leave poster available on the Labor Commissioner’s website.

HIPAA Training Resources

Here are four presentations for dental practice HIPAA privacy and security officers to learn about their responsibilities, and one training presentation that can be used in combination with a dental practice’s written policies and procedures to train office workforce (includes students and others).

Effective July 1, City of Los Angeles Freelance Worker Protections Ordinance

The ordinance sets forth certain requirements for employers retaining freelance workers (bona fide independent contractors) operating within the City of Los Angeles. Among other requirements and protections, the ordinance establishes a requirement that a written agreement be in place. Read more about the requirements of the ordinance here.

June 2023: Mandatory Update to Know Your Rights: Workplace Discrimination is Illegal Poster

The “Know Your Rights: Workplace Discrimination is Illegal” poster has been updated by the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). This new notice includes information regarding the Pregnant Workers Fairness Act (PWFA) which became effective June 27, 2023. Practice owners must print and post this notice over the (10/2022) notice contained in the 2023-2024 Required Poster Set.  

June 2023: Mandatory Update to Employee Polygraph Protection Act (EPPA) Poster

Although the Department of Labor’s website description for the Employee Polygraph Protection Act (EPPA) Poster still shows reference to the 2016 posting date, the poster itself has been added to reflect a “2/22 revision” update.

April 2023: Mandatory Update to Federal Minimum Wage Poster

A recent update to federal law providing additional rights to parents who must express breast milk at work has impacted the federal Minimum Wage poster. Known as the “PUMP” Act (Providing Urgent Maternal Protections for Nursing Mothers), the law impacts employers who are not covered by California’s more expansive protections. Since it came into effect employers must accommodate nursing mothers by, among other things, providing a location other than a bathroom to express breast milk. California has required lactation accommodation for a number of years and requires notices to employees above and beyond poster notice requirements.

May 2023: The DOL Published a Revised Family Medical Leave Act poster

Poster last revised: April 2023 (the April 2016 and February 2013 versions still fulfill the posting requirement). The April 2016 version is contained in the 2023-2024 Required Poster Set. CDA Members may still choose to print and affix the new poster over the FMLA poster contained in the 2023-2024 Required Poster Set. The poster must be displayed in a conspicuous place where employees and applicants for employment can see it. 

June 27, 2023: New Education Requirement for DEA Registration

Prescribers who apply for a new DEA registration, or who want to renew their registration, on or after June 27, 2023 are required to complete 8 hours of education on “treatment and management of patients with opioid or other substance use disorders.” The hours can be completed with one or more courses from an acceptable course provider. The individual is only required to complete the hours once for DEA registration or renewal. The new requirement is part of the Medication Access and Training Expansion (MATE) Act that was enacted in 2022 as part of a federal spending bill. For more information see this article.

Jan. 1, 2023: New C.E. Requirements

New C.E. requirements include a mandated opioid course for dentists and new activity eligible for earning C.E. credit. For more information see “Continuing Education Requirements and FAQ.”

June 23, 2022: Dentists Initiating and Administering Vaccines

Dentists are authorized to administer flu and COVID-19 vaccines. The Dental Board has adopted related regulations on training, continuing education, notification and reporting.

November 14, 2022: EDD released 2023 Contribution Rates, Withholding Schedules, and Meals and Lodging Values

Employers can find updated information for 2023 payroll withholding on the EDD website.

October 20, 2022: EEOC Publishes Updated “Know Your Rights” Poster

The United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) released the “Know Your Rights” poster. This new poster replaces the previous “EEO is the Law” poster which employers are required to display. The EEOC explains that the updated “Know Your Rights” poster is available in both English and Spanish, and will be available in additional languages at a later date.  CDA Members should print and affix the new poster over the “EEO is the Law” poster contained in the 2021-2022 Required Poster Set. 

Oct. 6, 2022: Information Blocking Rule

Enforcement of this rule, which is to improve patient access to their electronic health information, is expected to commence on this date. For more information see “Information Blocking Rule Q&A.”

 

Jan. 1, 2022: New Anesthesia and Sedation Permits

Senate Bill 501, which changed requirements to hold general anesthesia and sedation permits, took effect. Any holder of a general anesthesia, conscious sedation or oral conscious sedation for minors permit is required to apply for a new permit once their current permit expires after Jan. 1, 2022. Implementing regulations and permit applications became available in August 2022. See the news article for more information.

July 31, 2022: Deadline to Update I-9 Forms Completed with Expired Documents

Employers have until July 31 to update the I-9s of current employees who presented an expired List B document between May 1, 2020, and April 30, 2022. Employers were permitted to accept certain expired documents under the COVID-19 Temporary Policy for List B Identity Documents. That policy expired on April 30, 2022.

July 1, 2022: Local minimum wage increases

On July 1, 2022, minimum wage increases take effect in several California localities and may require updated postings. See Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave Ordinances by City/County on cda.org

January 1, 2022: New minimum wage requirements, increases for CA, some cities

The minimum wage for a large employer with 26 or more employees in California will increase from $14 per hour to $15 per hour, and employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase from $13 per hour to $14 per hour on Jan. 1, 2022. These increases effect both hourly and salaried employees. Some cities and counties have their own ordinances beyond what is required by state law – new to the list is increased minimum wage and paid sick leave for West Hollywood. CDA provides a guide to minimum wage ordinances by city and county and employers are advised to check with their local jurisdictions to ensure they are in compliance.

March 2021: Updated Safety and Health Protection on the Job poster

The California Department of Industrial Relations has released an updated notice since the print date of the 2021-22 poster set. Download and print the posting listed below for use with your current set. 

Safety and Health Protection on the Job revised March 2021 Print on 11 X 17 paper only

March 28, 2022: CE Completion Deadline for Individuals Whose License Expires Oct 2021

Dentists, registered dental assistants and registered dental hygienists whose active license expires Oct 2021 are granted an extension of time to complete continuing education required for license renewal. The CE must be completed by March 28, 2022. Read more in this DCA order.

Jan 26, 2022: CE Completion Deadline for Individuals Whose License Expired March 2020 – Sept 2021

Dentists, registered dental assistants and registered dental hygienists whose active license expire in the period March 31, 2020 to Sept 30, 2021 are granted an extension of time to complete continuing education required for license renewal. The CE must be completed by Jan 26, 2022. Read more in this DCA order

All employers must register for CalSavers by June 30, 2022

California launched CalSavers to give employers an easy way to comply with the mandate and help their employees save for retirement.

State law now requires all businesses with five or more employees to facilitate CalSavers if they do not sponsor a retirement plan. Deadlines for employers to comply vary based on the size of business. The deadline for employers with five or more employees is June 30, 2022. Eligible employers with 5 or more employees who have not yet registered, should do so as soon as possible to avoid penalties. Visit CalSavers.com for more information on how to register.

June 30, 2021: CalSavers Compliance Deadline

California launched CalSavers to give employers an easy way to comply with the mandate and help their employees save for retirement.

State law now requires all businesses with five or more employees to facilitate CalSavers if they do not sponsor a retirement plan. Deadlines for employers to comply vary based on the size of business. The deadline for employers with more than 50 employees is June 30, 2021 and June 30, 2022 for employers with five or more employees. Eligible employers with 50 or more employees who have not yet registered, should do so as soon as possible to avoid penalties. Smaller employers may register early without penalty. Visit CalSavers.com for more information on how to register.

January 1, 2022: E-prescribing required with limited exceptions

California prescribers are required to use electronic data prescribing for all prescriptions starting Jan. 1, 2022. Legislation, AB 2789, establishing this mandate was passed in 2018. For additional information on how to get started prescribing electronically and on the new rules, refer to Prescribing & Dispensing Q&A.

January 1, 2021 California Family Rights Act leave benefits become available to employees of small businesses of five or more employees

Employers of five or more employees must begin to provide up to 12-weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to eligible employees. Employees who meet the eligibility requirements can take leave for the birth, adoption or foster care placement of a child or for a serious health condition of the employee or a specified family member. Employers should watch for updated notices and update practice leave policies. Check here later for additional resources.

1234