Every quarter, CDA publishes a Practice Health Check focusing on a different topic related to the business side of dentistry. Cal/OSHA documentation requirements are the focus in the first quarter of 2024. CDA members are invited to take the Q1 Practice Health Check consisting of just three questions.
Employees in California will be allowed to take five days of paid sick leave — up from the current three — beginning Jan. 1, 2024, under legislation signed into law in October. The law applies to employers of every size. Salary, hourly, full-time, part-time and temporary employees are eligible for the leave.
California’s minimum wage will rise again Jan. 1, 2024 – to $16 per hour for employers of every size as a result of inflation. But wages in more than 30 California counties are already higher and most of them will rise again in either January or July.
With the holiday season’s arrival, CDA’s employment practices analyst is receiving calls from members who have questions about the laws governing holiday pay. Here she’s assembled some tips to guide California dentists based on her conversations with callers.
The shortage of dental assistants impacts the productivity of the total practice. CDA members benefit from easy-to-implement training programs and staffing support plus legislative advocacy pursued on behalf of California practices.
Seeking specialized advice from risk management experts is essential for addressing the complexities of running a dental practice and managing employee dynamics. Collaboration with TDIC’s Advice Line analysts contributes to the long-term viability, success and prosperity of the dental practice.
A new Los Angeles city ordinance requires employers who hire and retain freelance workers within the city to provide a written contract and timely payment among other things and also established certain rights for freelance workers.
California employers still can choose to mandate COVID-19 and flu vaccination for their workers with some potential exemptions. A recent California appeals court decision provides guidance for employers who choose to do so.
HIPAA does not prohibit the use of virtual assistants, including those who work outside of the U.S. However, as HIPAA-covered entities, dentists and the business associates they contract with are responsible for ensuring assistants are trained to safeguard patient information.
Dental practices must print and display in the workplace six revised posters issued by the U.S. Department of Labor, California Civil Rights Department and Califoria Department of Industrial Relations.
Qualified California small businesses and nonprofit organizations that incurred costs for providing COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave between Jan. 1-Dec. 31, 2022, can apply now for up to $50,000 through the state's relief grant program.
Local dental societies and dentists have successfully launched dental assistant training programs to provide effective, accelerated training to the labor force in their areas. Some of these utilize CDA’s Dental Assistant Training curriculum. Learn more about these local programs and CDA’s upcoming Smile Crew CA Dental Assistant Training Bootcamp.