03/09/2015

Notify dental staff of sick leave law changes


CDA has included information in its new 2015 Sample Employee Manual that dentists can use to notify their employees about the changes to the paid sick leave law in California.

The new law, which takes effect on July 1, requires nearly every employer in California to allow all of its employees at least three paid sick days each year. The law provides that employees receive an hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. (Caring for themselves or family members can be the reasons for taking the sick leave.)

CDA recently released its updated 2015 Sample Employee Manual that has details of the law that dentists can copy and paste into their own employee manuals. In addition, dentists should make sure their staff is aware of the new law before July 1, said CDA Practice Analyst Michelle Corbo.

“Everyone on the dental team should be notified of these changes,” Corbo said. “Post a notice in a conspicuous place, have a staff meeting about the change or changes in policy and have each employee sign a document that acknowledges, ‘These changes replace or are an addition to the current manual on this date,’ and place a copy in each employee’s file. This helps the dentist cover their bases if a dispute should ever arise.”  

Information that should be included in a dentist’s employee manual includes, but is not limited to: the employer can limit an employee from using the leave for the first 90 days of employment; an employer who chooses to provide leave on an accrual basis, no less than one hour for every 30 hours worked, can limit the amount of paid sick leave to 24 hours/three days each year and can cap the total rollover accrual banked by an employee to 48 hours/six days; and if an employee should leave the practice, sick leave does not need to be paid out unless the employer’s policy combines the sick leave and vacation into a paid time off policy.

For the rest of the information that should be communicated with dental teams, view page 22 of the 2015 Sample Employee Manual.

In addition to this, employers were supposed to comply with displaying a required poster for employees by Jan. 1.

Noncompliance can result in fines and state penalties.

A dentist should review their employee manual every year and make any necessary changes so that the practice remains in compliance with current state requirements.



Topics
Top