Dental board licensure fee increases to take effect Oct. 19

Updated Oct. 16, 2017

The Dental Board of California on Oct. 19, 2017, will implement a new set of fee increases to licentiates. These fee increases were approved by the state Office of Administrative Law Aug. 24, 2017, and their implementation comes ahead of the date previously reported. Applications for new licenses and permits received by the board on or after Oct. 19 must be submitted with the new fee. Board-issued licenses with an expiration date of Jan. 31, 2018, and later are required to pay the new renewal fee. A list of the new fees may be viewed on the dental board’s website.

Dental board licensure fee increases anticipated in November

With the anticipated final approval from the state Office of Administrative Law, initial and biennial dental licensure fees will increase with an estimated effective date of November 2017. A group of ancillary fees that is linked by law to the biennial renewal fee will increase as well.

Dental licensure renewal fees were last raised in 2013, which was the first increase in 15 years. Although the Dental Board of California was facing an imminent budget shortfall and projected the need for a larger increase, it was limited by a statutory fee cap. The board subsequently sponsored legislation in 2015 to increase the cap, signaling it would return to reset fees in the near future. During this time, CDA urged the board to conduct an independent fee review to analyze expenditures and revenues, be more transparent with its budgeting process and develop a financial plan to provide a long-term, solid structural budget.

The audit, completed in December 2015, brought to light the substantial increase in expenditures the board was experiencing related primarily to the costs of the Department of Consumer Affairs' Consumer Protection Enforcement Initiative, expenses for the BreEZe licensing system, CURES development and the general increase in the cost of doing business over the years. Additionally, the audit analyzed the board’s actual administrative cost for each fee category and made recommendations to bring each fee amount into closer alignment with its costs.

Upon completion of the audit, the board moved immediately forward with the rulemaking process to increase fees, seeking to address the projected fund balance deficit in budget year 2017, as well as an ongoing fund balance deficit thereafter.
Key fee renewal increases are:

  • Biennial licensure renewal — from $525 to $650
  • Additional office permit renewal — from $100 to $250
  • Fictitious name renewal — from $150 to $325
  • Oral conscious sedation certificate renewal — from $75 to $136
  • Oral and maxillofacial surgery permit renewal — $365 to $650
  • General anesthesia or conscious sedation permit renewal — from $200 to $325
  • General anesthesia or conscious sedation on-site inspection and evaluation fee — from $250 to $2,000

The complete list of proposed fee increases can be found on the dental board’s website. The new fee schedule remains slightly above the mid-point of comparable California health professional licensing boards, currently ranging from $207-$820 for biennial renewal license fees.

CDA has advocated throughout this process for a full, fair and transparent approach to setting fees and encouraged ongoing financial analysis and budget planning so that fee increases occur incrementally over time. Additionally, CDA has consistently communicated that licensure fee increases should result in measurable improvements to the board's overall service to licensees and to patients.

Visit BreEZe, the Department of Consumer Affairs’ online licensing and enforcement system, to confirm your information is up to date.

Related Items

CDA provides an online continuing education course calendar that includes pages of course offerings for dentists who want to enhance their practice and professional development or simply need credits for license renewal.

In one handy place, CDA members can find the details, deadlines and resources they need to ensure their practice complies with upcoming laws and regulations. Check out “Are You in Compliance?” on the CDA Practice Support homepage.

Gov. Jerry Brown on Monday, Aug. 7, 2017, signed AB 1707 (Low, D-Silicon Valley) into law, which authorizes the Dental Board of California to resume issuing new RDA licenses and to extend the suspension of the RDA practical examination. AB 1707 contains an urgency clause, which makes the legislation effective now, rather than in 2018.