06/22/2017

CURES fee exemption available for some dentists


California prescribers who are registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency to prescribe, dispense or administer controlled substances must also register to access the state’s prescription drug monitoring program, CURES. A $6 annual ($12 biennial) fee is assessed with licensure renewal in order to maintain the database. With the passage of Senate Bill 1478 last year, dentists whose license status is retired, disabled or inactive are exempt from the fee starting July 1. Dentists without a DEA registration also are exempt from the fee.



Related Items

Well ahead of the compliance deadline, CDA has updated its Proposition 65 resources to include the dental-specific notice that many dental practices (as well as dental schools and laboratories) will need to post at the entrance of the dental office by Aug. 30, 2018, unless the practice chooses instead to provide a warning with an informed consent form to be signed by the patient prior to exposure.

“Your Guide to California Dental Practice Act Compliance” was updated in January 2017 to reflect new laws concerning adverse event reporting, scope of practice, required language in the anesthesia informed consent form, online advertising through Groupon, notice of licensure, prescriber dispensing of controlled substances and several other areas of practice.

CDA has created a new online resource guide to help dentists meet requirements and follow best practices when prescribing opioids for the treatment of patients' dental pain. This resource is CDA's latest in ongoing efforts to address and combat California's opioid epidemic and ensure members have the most up-to-date information to maintain compliance in the dental practice.

Topics
Top