CDA Foundation accepting Dugoni award applications

The CDA Foundation offers financial support for oral health programs and dental education statewide. In this way, funding reaches local communities where it’s needed most. Numerous grants and scholarships are available throughout the year with various deadlines and submission periods. Currently, the CDA Foundation is accepting applications for its Dr. Arthur A. Dugoni Faculty Award.

In recognition of Dr. Arthur A. Dugoni’s accomplishments in dental education and organized dentistry, this award acknowledges and supports individual faculty for their exceptional leadership, innovation, collaboration, compassion, philanthropic spirit and integrity in dental education. Recipients are those who contribute to the scholarly and creative activity of the school through direct contact with students and add to the enrichment of the dental program with which they are affiliated. Priority is given to applications that reflect Dugoni’s vision of excellence in teaching and professional development.

“There are a lot of talented faculty in the dental education field in California, so sometimes it can be difficult to select just one, but I know we will find someone who exemplifies the nature of this award and carries on the tradition of the long list of esteemed faculty who have received it in the past,” said CDA Foundation Chair Don Rollofson, DMD.

The CDA Foundation strives to select faculty engaged in preparing students for a professional education that lays the groundwork for lasting achievement and responsible leadership in their careers and communities. The most recent recipient of this award, Allen Wong, DDS, EdD, a professor at the University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, was selected for the 2014 award in part because of his ability to demonstrate leadership, collaboration and innovation — providing his senior students with hands-on experience in the hospital treating patients under general anesthesia.

“The CDA Foundation looks for applicants who enhance or support dental school programs, from all fields of study or dental specialties,” Rollofson said.  “Dr. Wong is an exemplary recipient who contributes greatly to the future of our profession, helping students become professionals through education and experiences.”

Eligible applicants will have a history as a member of faculty, hold full- or part-time teaching positions, and be affiliated with a dental program associated with one of California’s dental schools.

Past award recipients include:

  • 2013 - Earl Freymiller, DMD, MD
    UCLA School of Dentistry

  • 2012 - Thomas Levy, DDS, MS
    USC Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry

  • 2011 - Neal A. Johnson, DDS, PhD
    Loma Linda University School of Dentistry

  • 2010 - Nadim Z. Baba, DMD, MSD, FACP
    Loma Linda University School of Dentistry

  • 2009 - Ram Mohan Vaderhobli, BDS, MS
    UCSF School of Dentistry

  • 2008 - Brian Novy, DDS
    LLU School of Dentistry

  • 2007 - Susan Hyde, DDS, MPH, PhD
    UCSF School of Dentistry

  • 2006 - Paul Subar, DDS
    University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry

Recipients are eligible to receive a one-time award of up to $5,000 — funds may be used for, but are not limited to, travel, conferences, research, materials, supplies or academic projects. The application deadline for this award is March 31.

For more information and to apply, visit cdafoundation.org/receive.