Skip to main content
Menu

Resources

Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave Ordinances by City/County

September 14, 2022 2073

California Minimum Wage and Minimum Salary Thresholds through 2023

Date

 

Minimum Wage Employers With 26 or More Employees Minimum Wage Employers With 25 or Fewer Employees **Exemption Threshold Employers With 26 or More Employees **Exemption Threshold Employers With 25 or Fewer Employees
1/1/2022 $15/hour $14/hour $5,200/month $62,400/annual $1,200/week $4,853.33/month $58,240/annual $1,120/week
1/1/2023 $15.50/hour $15.50/hour $5,373.33/month $64,480/annual $1,240/week $5,373.33/month $64,480/annual $1,240/week

*Once the minimum wage reaches $15 per hour for all businesses, wages could then be increased each year up to 3.5 percent (rounded to the nearest 10 cents) for inflation as measured by the national Consumer Price Index. **As indicated above, the minimum monthly salary requirement for exempt employees must earn no less than two times the state minimum wage for full-time employment, and the salary must be a pre-determined sum.

The following California cities have passed local ordinances relating to minimum wage, sick leave, and other applicable laws.

City/County Minimum Wage Required Notice & Records City References Other Generally Applicable Local Ordinances
Berkeley $16.99/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes

Workforce Standards and Enforcement

Berkeley Family Friendly and Environment Friendly Workplace Ordinance (Employers 10+)

TRACC Commuter Benefits (10+)

Emeryville $17.68/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes City of Emeryville  
Los Angeles (City) $16.04/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes City of Los Angeles Los Angeles Fair Chance Initiative for Hiring Ordinance (Employers 10+)
Oakland $15.06/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes City of Oakland  
San Diego (City) $15/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes City of San Diego   
San Francisco $16.99/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes San Francisco Minimum Wage

San Francisco Pad Sick Leave

SF Consideration of Salary History Ordinance

SF Discrimination Prohibition Ordinance (Employers 6+) Notice req.

SF Drug-Free Workplace Ordinance Notice req.

SF Family Friendly Workplace Ordinance (Employers 20+) Notice req.

SF Health Care Security Ordinance

SF Lactation in the Workplace Ordinance

SF Paid Parental Leave Ordinance (Employers 20+)

Santa Monica $15.96/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes City of Santa Monica Minimum Wage  
NEW! West Hollywood For employers with 50 or more employees: $16.50/hour effective July 1, 2022 (with further increases scheduled for January 1, 2023 at $17.50, and an estimated increase on July 1, 2023 to $18.77).
For employers with 49 or fewer employees: $16.00/hour effective July 1, 2022 (with further increases scheduled for January 1, 2023 at $17.00, and an estimated increase on July 1, 2023 to $18.77).
Yes City of West Hollywood  

The following list contains city-specific minimum wage requirements. Employers in these cities must comply with California Paid Sick Leave.

City/County Minimum Wage Required Notice & Records City References
Alameda $15.75/hr effective July 1,2022 Yes City of Alameda
Belmont $16.20/hr effective January 1, 2022* Yes City of Belmont
Burlingame $15.60/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Burlingame Minimum Wage
Cupertino $16.40/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Cupertino Minimum Wage
Daly City $15.50/hour effective: January 1, 2022* Yes Daly City Minimum Wage
El Cerrito $16.37/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes El Cerrito Minimum Wage
New! Foster City $15.75/hr all employers effective July 1, 2022 ($16.50/hr effective January 1, 2023)* Yes Foster City Minimum Wage
Fremont For all employers $16.00/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes Fremont Minimum Wage
Half Moon Bay $15.56/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Half Moon Bay Minimum Wage
Hayward For employers with 26 or more employees: $15.56/hour effective January 1, 2022*
For employers with 25 or fewer employees: $14.52/hour (Next increase: January 1, 2022*)
Yes Hayward Minimum Wage
Los Altos $16.40/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Los Altos Minimum Wage Ordinance
Los Angeles (Unincorporated Areas) $15.96/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes Los Angeles County Minimum Wage
 
Malibu $15.96/hour effective July 1, 2022* Posting is recommended Malibu Minimum Wage
Menlo Park $15.25/hour (Next increase: January 1, 2022*) Yes Menlo Park Minimum Wage
Milpitas $16.40/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes Milpitas Minimum Wage
Mountain View $17.10/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Mountain View Minimum Wage
Novato For employers with 100 or more employees: $15.77/hour effective January 1, 2022*
For employers with 26-99 employees: $15.53/ hour effective January 1, 2022*, For employers with 25 or fewer employees: $15/hour effective January 1, 2022)
Yes Novato Minimum Wage
Palo Alto $16.45/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Palo Alto Minimum Wage
Pasadena $16.11/hour effective July 1, 2022* Yes Pasadena Minimum Wage
Petaluma $15.85/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Petaluma Minimum Wage
Redwood City $16.20/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Redwood City Minimum Wage
Richmond $15.54/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Richmond Minimum Wage
San Carlos $15.77/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes San Carlos Minimum Wage
San Jose $16.20/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes San Jose Minimum Wage
San Leandro $15/hour effective July 1, 2020 Yes San Leandro Minimum Wage
San Mateo (City) $16.20/hour effective: January 1, 2022* Yes San Mateo Minimum Wage
Santa Clara (City) $16.40/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Santa Clara Minimum Wage
Santa Rosa $15.85/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes

Santa Rosa Minimum Wage

Sonoma (City) For employers with 26 or more employees: $16/hour effective January 1, 2022
For employers with 25 or fewer employees: $15/hour effective January 1, 2022
Yes Sonoma Minimum Wage
South San Francisco $15.80/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes South San Francisco Minimum Wage
Sunnyvale $17.10/hour effective January 1, 2022* Yes Sunnyvale Minimum Wage

*Annual increases tied to Consumer Price Index or another index and announced by cities in advance of the effective date of increases

*California Paid Sick Leave Requirements

24 hours/3 days annual use
48 hours/ 6 days total accrual cap
California Required Notice and Records

  • Poster
  • Written notice to the employee at hire (WTPA Notice Labor Code section 2810.5)
  • Paystub or separate writing provided to the employee with the payment of wages - available sick leave

For further details:
State Department of Industrial RelationsFAQ

Comments are only visible to subscribers.