Effective, January 1, 2023 every employer, regardless of the number of employees, shall pay each employees wages not less than $15.50 per hour
*Employees treated as employed by a single qualified taxpayer pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 23626 are treated as employees of that single taxpayer. **As indicated above, the minimum monthly salary requirement for exempt employees must earn no less than two times the state minimum wage for full-time employment, and the salary must be a pre-determined sum.
$18.07/hour effective July 1, 2023*
Employers with < 25 workers 48 hours
Employers with 25+ workers 72 hours
Workforce Standards and Enforcement
Berkeley Family Friendly and Environment Friendly Workplace Ordinance (Employers 10+)
TRACC Commuter Benefits (10+)
$18.67/hour effective July 1, 2023*
Employers with < 56 workers 48 hours
Employers with 56+ workers 72 hours
Los Angeles Fair Chance Initiative for Hiring Ordinance (Employers 10+)
City of Los Angeles Freelance Worker Protections Ordinance
$16.50/hour effective January 1, 2024*
Employers with < 10 workers 40 hours
Employers with 10+ workers 72 hours
$16.85/hour effective January 1, 2024*
All employers 40 hours
SF Consideration of Salary History Ordinance
SF Drug-Free Workplace Ordinance Notice req.
SF Family Friendly Workplace Ordinance (Employers 20+) Notice req.
SF Health Care Security Ordinance
SF Lactation in the Workplace Ordinance
SF Paid Parental Leave Ordinance (Employers 20+)
Santa Rosa Minimum Wage
*Annual increases tied to Consumer Price Index or another index and announced by cities in advance of the effective date of increases
Preparing for the Increase
Remember that when a wage increase takes effect, employers must also ensure that wage statements are updated and issue non-exempt (hourly) employees a revised Wage Theft Protection Act Notice (under Labor Code section 2810.5). This notice should reflect the new rate of pay and overtime rates, and must be issued within seven calendar days after the time of the changes.
*New California Paid Sick Leave Requirements effective January 1, 2024
40 hours/ 5 days annual use
80 hours/ 10 days total accrual cap
*Employers may limit annual usage to 40 hours
California Required Notice and Records
For further details:
State Department of Industrial RelationsFAQ
Already a CDA Member?
to keep exploring our resource library.
Learn more about CDA Member Benefits.
Go back to the previous page.