Skip to main content
Menu

Resources

Are You in Compliance?

All employers must register for CalSavers by June 30, 2022

California launched CalSavers to give employers an easy way to comply with the mandate and help their employees save for retirement.

State law now requires all businesses with five or more employees to facilitate CalSavers if they do not sponsor a retirement plan. Deadlines for employers to comply vary based on the size of business. The deadline for employers with five or more employees is June 30, 2022. Eligible employers with 5 or more employees who have not yet registered, should do so as soon as possible to avoid penalties. Visit CalSavers.com for more information on how to register.

April 1, 2020: Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) notice

On or before April 1, 2020, employers must post or provide the new Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) notice to employees.

Each covered employer must post a notice of the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) requirements notice in a conspicuous place on its premises. An employer may satisfy this requirement by emailing or direct mailing this notice to employees, or posting this notice on an employee information internal or external website.

Download the notice on the DOL website. 

 

April 1, 2021: American Rescue Plan: Changes to FFCRA

Continuation of FFCRA tax credit provisions extended through September 30, 2021. Since Jan 1, 2021, all employers are no longer required to provide FFCRA leave to employees – rather, employers can choose whether to provide FFCRA leave to employees and obtain tax credits to offset 100% of employee wages and healthcare premiums associated with providing the leave. Employers who choose to provide the FFCRA leave must do so universally with all employees.

Jan 26, 2022: CE Completion Deadline for Individuals Whose License Expired March 2020 – Sept 2021

Dentists, registered dental assistants and registered dental hygienists whose active license expire in the period March 31, 2020 to Sept 30, 2021 are granted an extension of time to complete continuing education required for license renewal. The CE must be completed by Jan 26, 2022. Read more in this DCA order

January 1, 2021 AB 685 Required notification to employees of exposure; local health department of outbreak in the workplace

Requires written notice to employees in the event of a COVID-19 exposure in the workplace. Also, under the new law, if an employer is aware of a COVID-19 outbreak ― defined as three confirmed cases within 14 days ― occurring at the worksite, the employer is required to report within 48 hours the confirmed cases to their local public health agency. Read more here. Check here later for a resource that includes sample notification language.

January 1, 2021 California Family Rights Act leave benefits become available to employees of small businesses of five or more employees

Employers of five or more employees must begin to provide up to 12-weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to eligible employees. Employees who meet the eligibility requirements can take leave for the birth, adoption or foster care placement of a child or for a serious health condition of the employee or a specified family member. Employers should watch for updated notices and update practice leave policies. Check here later for additional resources.

January 1, 2022: New minimum wage requirements, increases for CA, some cities

The minimum wage for a large employer with 26 or more employees in California will increase from $14 per hour to $15 per hour, and employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase from $13 per hour to $14 per hour on Jan. 1, 2022. These increases effect both hourly and salaried employees. Some cities and counties have their own ordinances beyond what is required by state law - new to the list is increased minimum wage and paid sick leave for West Hollywood. CDA provides a guide to minimum wage ordinances by city and county and employers are advised to check with their local jurisdictions to ensure they are in compliance.

January 1, 2023: Comply with new permit requirements for general anesthesia, moderate sedation and minor sedation

SB 501 established new requirements for dentists administering or ordering the administration of general anesthesia, deep sedation, and minimal sedation. The legislation called for the new requirements to be implemented by Jan. 1, 2022. However, regulations are still being promulgated. CDA will update members on impacts to current and new permit holders as information becomes available. Review a summary of those requirements in Sedation and Anesthesia Permits.

June 30, 2021: CalSavers Compliance Deadline

California launched CalSavers to give employers an easy way to comply with the mandate and help their employees save for retirement.

State law now requires all businesses with five or more employees to facilitate CalSavers if they do not sponsor a retirement plan. Deadlines for employers to comply vary based on the size of business. The deadline for employers with more than 50 employees is June 30, 2021 and June 30, 2022 for employers with five or more employees. Eligible employers with 50 or more employees who have not yet registered, should do so as soon as possible to avoid penalties. Smaller employers may register early without penalty. Visit CalSavers.com for more information on how to register.

October 12, 2020: Submit compliance report for amalgam separators

Dental practices, including those that are exempt or want to claim an exemption to the requirement to install an amalgam separator, must submit a one-time compliance report to their local control authority. The report is available in most areas from the local sanitation agency. If a sanitation agency does not have a pretreatment program, then the dental practice must submit the report to the California State Water Resources Board.

Read more in this news article.

September 19, 2020 - December 31, 2020 (unless FFCRA sunset extended) AB 1867 Overrides the FFCRA health care provider exemption.

The law includes language that any entity that employs health care providers or emergency responders that elect to exclude employees from emergency paid sick leave under the federal FFCRA health care provider exemption must provide the leave in California. As a best practice, all employers should comply with emergency paid sick leave under FFCRA.