Skip to main content
Menu

2020

April 1, 2020: Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) notice

On or before April 1, 2020, employers must post or provide the new Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) notice to employees.

Each covered employer must post a notice of the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) requirements notice in a conspicuous place on its premises. An employer may satisfy this requirement by emailing or direct mailing this notice to employees, or posting this notice on an employee information internal or external website.

Download the notice on the DOL website. 

 

December 1, 2020 Small Business Hiring Tax Credit application portal opens today

The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) began accepting applications today for a small business hiring credit against California state income taxes or sales and use taxes. Qualified business employers who employed 100 or fewer employees as of December 31, 2019; and suffered a 50% decrease or more in income tax gross receipts when comparing second quarter 2020 to second quarter 2019, may apply between Dec. 1, 2020 through Jan. 15, 2021 to receive a credit of $1,000 for each net increase in qualified employees from April 1, 2020 through June 30, 2020. The credit reservations will be allocated to qualified small business employers on a first-come, first-served basis.

Employers should be prepared with all the required information to start their online application. Visit https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/SB1447-tax-credit.htm for details.

January 1, 2020: New minimum wage requirements, increases for CA, some cities

The minimum wage for a large employer with 26 or more employees in California will increase from $12 per hour to $13 per hour, and employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase from $11 per hour to $12 per hour on Jan. 1, 2020. Some cities and counties have their own ordinances beyond what is required by state law, with more expected to follow. CDA provides a guide to minimum wage ordinances by city and county and employers are advised to check with their local jurisdictions to ensure they are in compliance.

July 14, 2020: Install Amalgam Separators

Dental facilities without amalgam separators on June 14, 2017, with exceptions, must install an amalgam separator by this date and comply with documentation requirements. Separators must be compliant with either the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) American National Standard/American Dental Association (ADA) Specification 108 for Amalgam Separators (2009) With Technical Addendum (2011) or the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 11143 Standard (2008) or subsequent versions so long as that version requires amalgam separators to achieve at least a 95 percent removal efficiency.

October 12, 2020: Submit compliance report for amalgam separators

Dental practices, including those that are exempt or want to claim an exemption to the requirement to install an amalgam separator, must submit a one-time compliance report to their local control authority. The report is available in most areas from the local sanitation agency. If a sanitation agency does not have a pretreatment program, then the dental practice must submit the report to the California State Water Resources Board.

Read more in this news article.

September 19, 2020 - December 31, 2020 (unless FFCRA sunset extended) AB 1867 Overrides the FFCRA health care provider exemption.

The law includes language that any entity that employs health care providers or emergency responders that elect to exclude employees from emergency paid sick leave under the federal FFCRA health care provider exemption must provide the leave in California. As a best practice, all employers should comply with emergency paid sick leave under FFCRA.