Skip to main content
Menu

Resources

Laws & Regulations

What practice owners need to know about the CFRA expansion that takes effect Jan. 1, 2021

Dental practice owners should be prepared for major changes to the California Family Rights Act. The changes take effect Jan. 1, 2021, and will impact very small businesses who will soon be required to provide 12 workweeks of job-protected unpaid family leave benefits to eligible employees annually. 

FDA says manufacturer failed to comply with medical device reporting related to respirator decontamination

The manufacturer of a decontamination system used to decontaminate certain N95 respirators for health care personnel received a warning notice last week from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration for “failure to comply with regulatory requirements for medical device reporting.”

ADA issues guidance on applying for federal certification to offer COVID-19 testing in-office

The American Dental Association has released a COVID-19 & Lab Testing Requirements Toolkit to aid dentists who are interested in incorporating rapid point-of-care testing in their practice. To assist members with California-specific requirements, CDA’s Clinical Care Workgroup will release additional POC testing guidance next month.

Classifying workers as independent contractors under law

Employers in California can now visit a single website to help them understand their requirements under a new law that further restricts their ability to classify their workers as independent contractors. Launched late last year by the California Labor & Workforce Development Agency, the website provides employer-specific resources and FAQ summarizing AB 5 and the ABC test and more.

HR audits help practices comply with laws, but can also offer peace of mind

Start your new year on the right foot by auditing your human resources systems and records. To diminish the possibility of legal issues and to ensure that your practice seeks to comply with labor and employment laws, it is important to perform an HR audit. An audit can include timekeeping and wage statements and all of the following.

New lactation accommodation requirements take effect Jan. 1, 2020

Protections for nursing mothers in California were significantly expanded under a bill signed into law in October by Gov. Gavin Newsom. Senate Bill 142 clarifies employer obligations to provide breaks and safe, private locations that include specified accommodations. The bill increases penalties for noncompliance and requires that employers implement a written lactation accommodation policy beginning Jan. 1, 2020.

Most employers will begin paying a higher minimum wage Jan. 1, 2020

Nearly all employers in California will begin paying their employees a higher minimum wage — either the new state or local minimum wage, whichever is higher — in the new year. Effective Jan. 1, 2020, the state minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $12 per hour from the current $11, and the state minimum wage for employers with 26 or more employees will increase to $13 per hour from the current $12.

Employers will heed new laws on arbitration agreements and more in the new year

California employers will need to take action soon to comply with new laws pertaining to employment discrimination claims, paid family leave, harassment prevention training and other areas of employment practice. The laws take effect as early as Jan. 1, 2020, and are the result of bills introduced in the last legislative session and signed into law in October by Gov. Gavin Newsom.

Know your employee pay requirements during a utility power failure

With planned power shut-offs developing across California in attempt to avoid wildfires, employers are wondering how they are to compensate their nonexempt employees when businesses are unable to be open for work due to power failures. Employers generally are obligated to pay “reporting time pay” to hourly employees when these employees are required to report for work and aren’t provided at least half of their usual hours for the day.

Compliance essentials: Hiring and paying temporary employees

Commonly, a dental practice will hire a temporary dental assistant, hygienist or front-office staff to fill in briefly for employee sick days, when the practice’s needs have increased or for an employee’s long-term leave of absence. CDA Practice Support finds that many employers are still puzzled about the requirements when hiring, classifying and properly paying these short-term employees.

'ABC test' is now the law, but it's not a free ticket for independent contractors

Beginning Jan. 1, 2020, it will be more difficult for most employers in California to classify workers as independent contractors, rather than employees, and in some cases will make employees out of independent contractors. And although CDA secured an exemption for dentists, employee classification still isn’t clear-cut, and dentists will need to err on the side of caution when classifying their workers.

Oh baby, baby! A practical guide to managing pregnant employees in your practice

Every employer at a dental practice will likely manage a pregnant employee at least once in their career, and most employers will have at least one question about pregnancy leave and the law. CDA Practice Support has received calls from puzzled members inquiring about the obligations associated with managing employees’ accommodations, benefits, leave and return rights and pay obligations.

New state law prohibits discrimination based on natural hairstyle

A new state law prohibits discrimination on the basis of hair textures or protective hairstyles that are historically associated with race. Senate Bill 188, also known as the CROWN Act, was signed in July by Gov. Gavin Newsom and will take effect Jan. 1, 2020. California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act was amended by the law to include in the definition of race “traits historically associated with race, including, but not limited to, hair texture and protective hairstyles.”

Employers can now register to help employees save through CalSavers

Eligible employers as of July 1 can now register for CalSavers, the state’s new retirement savings program for private sector workers. Employers are eligible to participate in CalSavers — a Roth IRA (after tax) — if they have five or more employees and do not already offer an employer-sponsored retirement plan. Employers pay no fees for participating in CalSavers.

Recent decision holds that 'ABC' independent contractor test applies retroactively

A California Supreme Court ruling in 2018 that created a stricter standard for determining who meets the definition of “employee” applies retroactively, the Ninth Circuit held in a May 2, 2019, ruling. The decision means the “ABC” test created last year by the California Supreme Court will be applied to cases going forward, as well as to disputes dating back to before the new test was enacted.

New and updated mandatory workplace postings from EDD, Cal/OSHA, others

All employers in California must meet workplace-posting obligations, which include printing and posting current mandatory notices where employees can see them. Employers should be aware of two required notices updated and released recently by the Employment Development Department and the Department of Fair Employment and Housing, as well as updated notices on transgender rights in the workplace, protection of safety and health on the job and more.

123