Skip to main content
Menu

Resources

Employment Practices

Laws & regulations, hiring/firing, office policies & manuals and performance.

It can be challenging to balance the roles of healthcare provider and employer, but it doesn't have to be. Find resources to help hire your dream team and keep your staff productive and happy. Get advice on how to write job descriptions, create applications, set office policies, establish alternative work schedules, and terminate an employee. In addition, all of this is supported by an Employee Manual that can be customized to your practice.

January 1, 2022: New minimum wage requirements, increases for CA, some cities

The minimum wage for a large employer with 26 or more employees in California will increase from $14 per hour to $15 per hour, and employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase from $13 per hour to $14 per hour on Jan. 1, 2022. These increases effect both hourly and salaried employees. Some cities and counties have their own ordinances beyond what is required by state law - new to the list is increased minimum wage and paid sick leave for West Hollywood. CDA provides a guide to minimum wage ordinances by city and county and employers are advised to check with their local jurisdictions to ensure they are in compliance.

Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave Ordinances by City/County

Individual cities and counties across California have passed local ordinances relating to minimum wage and sick leave laws — with eligibility rules varying from city to city. Check with local city government as to whether any local minimum wage ordinances may apply to employees in your practice. Periodically check local websites as rates in these cities could change at any time.  

Interns and Volunteers

Employers should proceed with caution when using unpaid interns or volunteers. Most interns are considered employees in the eyes of the law, which means you must comply with wage and hour laws, including paying them at least minimum wage.

1234