Skip to main content
error showing content
Menu
error showing content
error showing content
error showing content

Training and Non-productive Work Time Rate Sample Policy

August 26, 2021 4673

Employers need to reimburse such common expenses as work-related travel and expenses incurred within the scope of employment. 

Employee expenses should be paid for costs associated with required training, obtaining the weekly COVID-19 test, or other meetings and the time traveling to and from the event site (in excess of the employee’s regular commute time). 

The rate of pay for non-exempt (hourly) employees the time spent testing (non-productive work time) can be a paid at their regular rate of pay or reduced rate no lower than current state or local minimum wage. If employers should choose to establish a second reduced wage for weekly COVID-19 testing and travel time, employers should notify employees in advance (at least 15 days) of the new testing and travel wage rate. 

When employers require employees to attend training, or other required non-productive events after work hours or on a day off, this may result in overtime of over eight hours a day, or over 40 hours in a workweek. The overtime calculation of two or more rates of pay must include a "weighted average" of all rates of pay resulting in the employees "Ragular Rate of Pay". Visit dir.ca.gov for more information.  

Use a Change in Relationship Form to document the reduced weekly COVID-19 travel and non-productive time rate and provide an updated Notice to Employee form.

Revision_Template_Testing_Training_Rate_Policy
Sample Employee Manual

Developed to be used specifically in a dental practice this template reflects policies in the areas of discrimination, harassment and retaliation prevention and training requirements, pregnancy disability leave, meal and rest break requirements and more. Updated January 2022

Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave Ordinances by City/County

Individual cities and counties across California have passed local ordinances relating to minimum wage and sick leave laws — with eligibility rules varying from city to city. Check with local city government as to whether any local minimum wage ordinances may apply to employees in your practice. Periodically check local websites as rates in these cities could change at any time.  

error showing content
error showing content
error showing content
error showing content
error showing content
error showing content
error showing content
Federal OSHA and CMS vaccination rules impact few California dentists

The U.S. Supreme Court last week blocked one federal vaccination mandate for larger employers and upheld another for specified workers nationwide. But regardless of enforceability, the federal rules apply to very few California dental practices, which instead must comply with the stricter state or local vaccination mandate.

Handle with care: Minimizing risk with short-term and traveling patients

A variety of situations can prompt patients who are not local to seek dental care while they are temporarily visiting or residing in your area. As the “secondary“ general dentist, you have more liability exposure than the dentist who is performing their routine dental care. Discover how to mitigate risk when you choose to treat these patients.

A magnifying glass is hovering over the word Most employers in California will begin paying higher minimum wage Jan. 1, 2022

Nearly all employers in California will begin paying their employees a higher minimum wage — either the new state or local minimum wage, whichever is higher — in the new year. Effective Jan. 1, the state minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase to $14.