Masking requirement continues in California health care settings.
See the latest
Employers in California with 26 or more employees will be required to provide COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave through the end of 2022 once Gov. Newsom signs AB 152, which he is expected to do by his signing deadline.
The California Department of Public Health on Sept. 17 ended the COVID-19 testing mandate for unvaccinated health care workers and other individuals in high-risk settings, which include dental offices.
California’s minimum wage will rise again in January 2023 – to $15.50 for employers of every size. More than 30 California cities and counties have their own local ordinances that set the minimum wage even higher. The City of Los Angeles's Healthcare Workers Minimum Wage Ordinance does not apply to dental office settings.
Every quarter, CDA publishes a Practice Health Check that focuses on a different topic related to the business side of dentistry. CDA members are invited to take CDA's newest Practice Health Check, which focuses on employment practices.
Learn from CDA Practice Support’s guidance for California dentists on how to handle the obligations associated with managing pregnant employees’ accommodations, benefits, leave and return rights and pay obligations.
Employers in California with more than 25 employees must provide up to 80 hours of COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave to full-time employees who are unable to work or telework for qualifying reasons related to COVID-19.
With the holiday season’s arrival, Michelle Coker, employment practices analyst at CDA Practice Support, is taking calls from members who have questions about the laws governing holiday pay. She’s assembled tips to guide California dentists based on her conversations with callers.
Although federal OSHA delayed its rule requiring COVID-19 vaccination for workers at larger employers across the U.S., dental practices of every size in California should continue to follow state and any applicable local vaccination and testing orders that are already in effect.
Dental practice owners and other employers who have 5 to 50 employees and do not have a retirement plan in place will be required by state law to enroll their employees in CalSavers no later than June 30, 2022.