Alert: Career Opportunities Available
Start your career as a Dental Assistant today. Join the Smile Crew CA!
California dentists, physicians and other specified licensees who renew their license beginning in April 2021 will see an increase in the regulatory fee assessed annually to cover the “reasonable costs” associated with operating and maintaining CURES 2.0 ― California’s prescription drug monitoring database.
California law requires that prescribers of controlled substances begin using new prescription forms beginning Jan. 1, 2021, to help reduce prescription fraud. The compliant forms contain unique serial numbers and barcodes that are linked to corresponding records in CURES.
The Drug Enforcement Administration’s registration fee for prescribers will increase from $731 to $888 for a three-year period, according to the final rule published in the Federal Register last week.
California dentists are required to have a DEA registration if they prescribe, administer or dispense any controlled substances.
The Dental Board of California has not altered the requirements related to how the required basic life support course is to be conducted and completed. A portion of the course may be completed online, but licensees must still complete a live, in-person skills practice session.
The July issue of Journal of the California Dental Association focuses on dental licensure. Articles highlight the history of dental licensure in California, clinical competency assessments and more.
In July, California-licensed dental professionals whose licenses expire in July and August were given through Dec. 1 to complete their required C.E. according to a waiver issued by the Department of Consumer Affairs. The DCA on Aug. 27 issued a new waiver giving licensed dentists, RDHs and RDAs through Feb. 27, 2021, to complete the required C.E. and testing for license renewal.
In the latest positive development for California dental students graduating in the COVID-19 era, the Dental Board of California today voted unanimously to request a formal review of the legal defensibility of the new WREB and ADEX manikin-based examinations.
Dental board licensees are required to maintain their continuing education certificates for up to three renewal periods (six years). But if you’re a licensee and you receive a C.E. audit in the mail, what happens next? C.E. audits are done on a randomized basis and are not punitive. The dental board audits 1% of the active licensing population each year.
The American Dental Association has asked the Federal Trade Commission to “investigate false and misleading claims made by SmileDirectClub, LLC to entice consumers to purchase products and services.” The ADA is concerned specifically with SmileDirectClub’s marketing and direct-to-consumer sales of plastic teeth aligners, which it says do not follow the adequate safeguards required by law.