Masks are still required in the dental office.
Get resources to help your office communicate mask requirements.
Gov. Gavin Newsom on Oct. 8 signed into law CDA-sponsored legislation that allows California-licensed dentists to apply for the requisite laboratory licensure to administer rapid COVID-19 tests in the dental office. The new law also gives dentists permanent authority to administer FDA-approved or FDA-authorized COVID-19 and flu vaccines.
The Department of Consumer Affairs issued a new waiver that gives all California-licensed dental professionals whose active licenses expire in October 2021 until March 28, 2022, to meet license renewal requirements.
Beginning Jan. 1, 2022, dentists and other prescribers in California must issue electronic-data prescriptions for both controlled and noncontrolled substances with very few exceptions. Paper prescriptions will no longer be allowed by state law. All pharmacies in California must be capable of accepting those prescriptions.
Dentists registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration should be aware that the DEA is no longer sending renewal notices by U.S. Postal Service as of last June. Instead, registrants will receive several renewal notifications by email.
The Department of Consumer Affairs on March 30 issued two waivers that expand COVID-19 vaccinator eligibility to include California-licensed dentists and other health care providers with recently expired, inactive or lapsed licenses and health care students, including dental students.
An expedited licensure application review process is now available for individuals in specific categories who apply for a professional license through California licensing boards, including dentists, RDAs and RDAEFs who apply for licensure through the Dental Board of California.
The Dental Board of California will stop sending California-licensed dentists and others licensed by the board automated renewal application forms in the mail beginning July 2021. Licensees can expect to receive instead a postcard reminding them to renew online through BreEZe Online Services.
California dentists, physicians and other specified licensees who renew their license beginning in April 2021 will see an increase in the regulatory fee assessed annually to cover the “reasonable costs” associated with operating and maintaining CURES 2.0 ― California’s prescription drug monitoring database.
The Drug Enforcement Administration’s registration fee for prescribers will increase from $731 to $888 for a three-year period, according to the final rule published in the Federal Register last week.
California dentists are required to have a DEA registration if they prescribe, administer or dispense any controlled substances.