Masks are still required in the dental office.
Get resources to help your office communicate mask requirements.
California’s minimum wage will rise again in January 2023 – to $15.50 for employers of every size as a result of inflation. But more than 30 California cities and counties have their own local ordinances that set the minimum wage even higher. In some cities, the minimum wage will increase this July.
Every quarter, CDA publishes a Practice Health Check that focuses on a different topic related to the business side of dentistry. CDA members are invited to take CDA's newest Practice Health Check, which focuses on employment practices.
Learn from CDA Practice Support’s guidance for California dentists on how to handle the obligations associated with managing pregnant employees’ accommodations, benefits, leave and return rights and pay obligations.
Beginning Feb. 19, employers in California with more than 25 employees must provide up to 80 hours of COVID-19 supplemental paid sick leave to full-time employees who are unable to work or telework for qualifying reasons related to COVID-19.
The U.S. Supreme Court last week blocked one federal vaccination mandate for larger employers and upheld another for specified workers nationwide. But regardless of enforceability, the federal rules apply to very few California dental practices, which instead must comply with the stricter state or local vaccination mandate.
With the holiday season’s arrival, Michelle Coker, employment practices analyst at CDA Practice Support, is taking calls from members who have questions about the laws governing holiday pay. She’s assembled tips to guide California dentists based on her conversations with callers.
Although federal OSHA delayed its rule requiring COVID-19 vaccination for workers at larger employers across the U.S., dental practices of every size in California should continue to follow state and any applicable local vaccination and testing orders that are already in effect.
Dental practice owners and other employers who have 5 to 50 employees and do not have a retirement plan in place will be required by state law to enroll their employees in CalSavers no later than June 30, 2022.
All health care providers, including dentists, will soon be required to comply with a new federal regulation that aims to enhance a patient’s right to access their health information. Under the new rule, patients will have greater and, at times, immediate access to health information.