Skip to main content

Online Learning FAQs

How can I access the courses I’ve already purchased?

If you registered and paid for a course offered through CDA by April 8, 2021, it has been transferred to our new learning platform. You have 180 days from the original purchase date to complete your course. For assistance with access, please email us

Once I’ve paid for a course, how much time do I have to take it and earn C.E.?

The opportunity to earn C.E. credit for the following courses will be available for 90 days after the purchase date: 

  • California Dental Practice Act 
  • Infection Control 
  • Treating Young Kids Everyday (TYKE)  
  • Clinical Teaching Methodology  
  • Infection Control for the Unlicensed DA  

A passing quiz score of 80% or better is needed to earn C.E.  

I've purchased the wrong course. How can I request a refund?

Contact us to request a cancellation or refund. To be eligible for a refund, the request must be made before the course’s expiration date and the course must not have been started. 

How do I register for live courses or events?

To register for the course, log in to your account. Using the link provided, enroll in the course. You will then receive a confirmation email with information on how to access the course. 

Is there a limit to the number of attendees for live courses?

Our live courses from leading speakers on practice management and clinical care are very popular. Each webinar is limited to 3,000 participants, so don't wait to save your spot.  

How do I access live courses and events?
  1. Log in to your account and click "My Courses and Learning Plans” under the User Menu to view your enrolled courses.  
  2. Click on the tile of the course you wish to access.
  3.  Be sure to save the Zoom link for fast access to the webinar and check that you have a Zoom profile.  

Note: Google Chrome is the best operating system for accessing live courses. Refer to Zoom FAQ for more guidance. 

How do I access CDA Presents Recordings?
  1. Log in to your account and click “My Courses and Learning Plans” under the User Menu to view your purchased courses.  
  2. Click on the tile of the set of recordings you wish to access. 
  3. You may then choose from the individual course recordings to play courses on demand on your schedule.
How do I earn C.E. from a CDA Presents Recording?
  • To be eligible for C.E., be sure to watch the video in full on the regular playback speed.  
  • Check course details to confirm C.E. eligibility. We offer courses that are Core, 20% and Non-Eligible. 
  • The system will grant you credit once the course is complete. 
Do I need to submit my C.E. to the Dental Board of California?

You do not need to submit your C.E. transcripts with your license renewal unless requested to do so by the Board or as part of an audit process

What is the passing score for courses with quizzes? How many attempts do I have to pass?

You must pass an exam with a score of 80% or better, and you have two attempts for each course.

How do I obtain my C.E. transcripts?
  • Unless otherwise communicated, C.E. transcripts will be available in 7 to 14 days for live courses and immediately for self-study courses.  
  • Each C.E.-eligible course will provide you the option to download the transcript after course completion. 
  • Transcripts for courses taken prior to April 26, 2021, will not be available in the new learning platform. Please download older transcripts within your account on the C.E. Transcripts page.
  • For assistance, call CDA at 800.232.7645 during business hours, Mon.–Fri. from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PT. 
How long does CDA keep my C.E. transcripts?

CDA holds past transcript information for six (6) years in accordance with the Dental Board of California guidelines.


A online learning programs and CDA Presents audio recordings are licensed solely for the purchaser’s own personal, noncommercial use to receive C.E. units for license renewal in the allotted timeframe or for the use of the individual’s reference to course materials. Any other use of the recordings or programs, including public or enrolled broadcasting, is strictly prohibited without the express written permission of CDA. Request more information by calling 800.232.7645.