Important COVID-19 resources
Support and key resources to manage COVID-19 cases, exposure in the dental office.
Military families will be eligible for Paid Family Leave benefits beginning Jan. 1, 2021. Dental practice owners are encouraged to update their employee handbooks regarding military exigency and Paid Family Leave benefits.
California dentists, physicians and other specified licensees who renew their license beginning in April 2021 will see an increase in the regulatory fee assessed annually to cover the “reasonable costs” associated with operating and maintaining CURES 2.0 ― California’s prescription drug monitoring database.
CDA reminds California-licensed dentists that they are required to begin using tamper-resistant prescription pads when prescribing controlled substances no later than Jan. 1, 2021. Also taking effect are two laws related to controlled-substance prescribing for Medicare beneficiaries and reporting requirements for controlled-substance dispensing.
Most counties in California mandate annually that licensed health care facilities require their health care workers to provide evidence of influenza vaccination during the influenza “season.” The flu season typically runs between September and May, but it can be defined differently per county.
CDA Practice Support continues to publish frequently asked questions to help dentist-employers understand their obligations and options in the COVID environment. The newest FAQ answers questions about COVID-19 testing, exposure and reporting and employee paid leave.
Every dental practice, whether it is required to install an amalgam separator to comply with the Environmental Protection Agency rule, must complete and submit a one-time compliance report to the local sanitation agency or the California State Water Resources Control Board.
The Drug Enforcement Administration’s registration fee for prescribers will increase from $731 to $888 for a three-year period, according to the final rule published in the Federal Register last week.
California dentists are required to have a DEA registration if they prescribe, administer or dispense any controlled substances.
Employers in California are obligated to report to the nearest Cal/OSHA office any serious injury, illness or death of an employee if it occurred at the worksite or in connection with work. The COVID-19 illness may be reportable if it occurred in the workplace and meets the definition of a serious illness under the Cal/OSHA regulation.
The Americans with Disabilities Act and state disability rights laws require dental practices, as places of public accommodations, to make their services and facilities accessible to disabled individuals. This includes making a dental practice website accessible to those who are visually impaired.